News & Events / News - Announcements

- See or download an electronic copy of our print LEGACY newsletter, Fall 2023


- See or download a copy of our electronic Notes & News, Spring 2023

- See our list of donors to the Site from September 2022 through August 2023

- Read Sage Vogel's story related to his parents' artwork Intercambio, part of the Aún Aquí exhibition

- Read our news release on our exhibition Etched in Memory: Gene Kloss' Taos

- See the online version of our La Luz de Taos Gala lecture

Please visit our YouTube channel to see our uploaded videos, including our 2022 La Luz de Taos Lecture - PARDS: The Taos Society of Artists

The Taos Society of Artists was a series of partnerships that affected not only the artists personally and professionally, but also the reach of the TSA beyond Taos. Despite their conflicts and collisions, they remained fiercely loyal to the aims of the TSA even after it dissolved in 1927. Historians partnered with the TSA artists to ensure their works was not forgotten. The Couse-Sharp Historic Site continues that commitment, particularly in its newest partnership: The Lunder Research Center. This lecture discusses those evolving and fluid partnerships in the context of American art, including art of the American West.

The speaker is Michael R. Grauer, McCasland Chair of Cowboy Culture/Curator of Cowboy Collections and Western Art at National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum. Mr. Grauer holds a Bachelor of Fine Arts in painting and a Bachelor of Fine Arts in art history from the University of Kansas; the Master of Arts in art history from Southern Methodist University; and the Master of Arts in history from West Texas A&M University. He has began his career at the Smithsonian American Art Museum and has been a curator of art for 35 years. He has curated over 150 exhibitions on Western art, culture, and history and authored 70 publications. He was the University of Kansas Kress Foundation Department of Art History’s distinguished alumnus for 2012. In September 2021, his recent book, Making a Hand: The Art of H. D. Bugbee, received the Western History Association Wrangler Award for Best Western Art Book for 2020. He was inducted into the Kansas Cowboy Hall of Fame at Dodge City, Kansas, as Cowboy Historian for 2021 in October.


Statement of Purpose
Through its archives, collections, and programming, the Couse-Sharp Historic Site preserves and interprets Taos’ crossroads of cultures, promoting and facilitating research, education, and new perspectives on the Taos Society of Artists, early artists of Taos, and regional and Indigenous communities in relation to the greater story of the multicultural American West.